/ LLM benchmarks / subscription limits / ChatGPT
ChatGPT Plus vs Pro: what each plan gets you
Plus costs $20 a month, shown as CHF 20 from Switzerland. Pro comes in three tiers at $100, $200 and $500, from CHF 83 in Switzerland. In Codex the clock differs: Plus caps Codex per five hours, Pro drops that window and keeps an included allowance.
Plus or Pro?
Go
$8 a month
You mostly chat and want more image generation and file uploads than Free. Go runs on GPT-5.6 Luna and may show ads.
Plus
$20 a month
You want GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol and use Codex a few times a day. In Codex, Astra allows 5 to 45 messages per five hours.
Pro 100
$100 a month
Codex or Work runs for hours every day and the five-hour window keeps stopping you. Pro has none, and adds GPT-6 Pro in chat.
Pro 200 or 500
One Pro 100 allowance does not last your week. OpenAI publishes no multiple between the tiers, only that each one includes more.
The plans side by side
Swiss prices are the ones chatgpt.com/pricing shows when opened from Switzerland.
Swipe for all plans →
| Free | Go | Plus | Pro 100 | Pro 200 | Pro 500 | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price | Free | $8 a month1 | $20 a month1 | $100 a month1 | $200 a month1 | $500 a month1 |
| Shown in Switzerland | CHF 01 | CHF 71 | CHF 201 | from CHF 831 | Not shown | Not shown |
| Chat | Unlimited everyday text chats, tools limited3 | Unlimited everyday text chats, higher tool limits4 | Message caps possible at high demand5 | Included allowance, size not published6 | More usage than Pro 1006 | Highest usage of the Pro plans6 |
| 5-hour limit in Codex and Work | Limited access, no figure1 | Limited access, no figure1 | GPT-6 Astra 5 to 45, GPT-6.1 Sol 15 to 160 messages per 5 hours7 | None, an included allowance applies6 | None, an included allowance applies6 | None, an included allowance applies6 |
| Weekly limit | Not published | Not published | May apply2 | One weekly allowance for the Pro models8 | Weekly GPT-6 Pro limit, then GPT-5.6 Thinking8 | Not published |
| Models | GPT-5.6 Luna8 | GPT-5.6 Luna8 | GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol1 | More GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol, plus GPT-5.6 Sol Pro1 | More GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol, plus GPT-5.6 Sol Pro1 | More GPT-6 Astra and GPT-6.1 Sol, plus GPT-5.6 Sol Pro1 |
| Codex | Limited1 | Limited1 | Yes1 | Expanded1 | Expanded1 | Expanded1 |
| Context window, reasoning | Varies1 | 256K tokens1 | 256K tokens1 | 400K tokens1 | 400K tokens1 | 400K tokens1 |
| Image generation in chat | Limited1 | Yes1 | Yes1 | Yes1 | Yes1 | Yes1 |
| Ads | Possible in some countries3 | Possible1 | None stated | None stated | None stated | None stated |
| Keep working past the limit | Not stated | Not stated | Buy credits, valid 12 months10 | Buy credits, valid 12 months10 | Buy credits, valid 12 months10 | Buy credits, valid 12 months10 |
| Billing | Free1 | Monthly only4 | Monthly only4 | Monthly only4 | Monthly only4 | Monthly only4 |
How the limits work
Plus has no fixed chat quota. OpenAI may cap messages when demand is high.
In the provider's words: “Plus subscriptions may include usage limits such as message caps, especially during high demand. These limits may vary based on system conditions.”5
In Codex and Work, local runs and cloud chats share one allowance. On top of the five-hour window a weekly limit can apply.
In the provider's words: “Local messages and cloud chats share your plan's usage allowance. Weekly limits may also apply.”2
Pro removes the five-hour clock, not the ceiling. An included allowance still applies.
In the provider's words: “Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500 currently have no five-hour usage limit in Work and Codex. Your plan still has an included usage allowance.”6
The marketing page says unlimited, the help center does not. For limits, the help center is the page to trust.
In the provider's words: “A Pro subscription does not include unlimited use of the GPT-6 Pro model.”8
Plans change under the same name. Pro 200 reopened on 29 September 2026 at the same price with a smaller allowance for new subscribers.
In the provider's words: “New subscriptions that aren’t eligible for grandfathering include a lower usage allowance than previously offered with Pro 200 to reflect our increasingly efficient models. The monthly price remains $200.”9
At the limit, Plus and Pro users can buy credits instead of upgrading.
In the provider's words: “ChatGPT Plus and Pro users who reach their usage limit can purchase additional credits to continue working without needing to upgrade their existing plan.”2
Where OpenAI's models rank today
The best OpenAI model on each leaderboard, from the twice-daily crawl. Leaderboards test the strongest settings, which a subscription does not always include.
| Leaderboard | Best model | Rank |
|---|---|---|
| Coding (Code Arena)GPT-6 Astra Max | GPT-6 Astra Max | #2 of 138 |
| Agentic Coding (LiveBench Agentic Coding)GPT-6 Astra Max Effort | GPT-6 Astra Max Effort | #17 of 58 |
| Reasoning (LiveBench Reasoning)GPT-6 Astra Max Effort | GPT-6 Astra Max Effort | #1 of 58 |
| Math (LiveBench Math)GPT-6 Astra Max Effort | GPT-6 Astra Max Effort | #3 of 58 |
| Data Analysis (LiveBench Data Analysis)GPT-6 Astra Max Effort | GPT-6 Astra Max Effort | #1 of 58 |
| Language (Text Arena)GPT-5.6 Sol xHigh | GPT-5.6 Sol xHigh | #20 of 413 |
| Instruction Following (LiveBench Instruction Following)GPT-6 Astra Max Effort | GPT-6 Astra Max Effort | #7 of 58 |
Questions
- What does ChatGPT Plus cost in Switzerland?
- chatgpt.com/pricing shows CHF 20 a month from Switzerland, the same figure as the $20 US price. Go shows CHF 7 and Pro starts at CHF 83. OpenAI's pricing page does not say whether CHF 20 includes VAT. On the web OpenAI bills Swiss subscriptions in francs. Subscriptions bought in the iPhone or Android app are billed by Apple or Google Play.
- Is ChatGPT Pro unlimited?
- No. OpenAI's help center says a Pro subscription does not include unlimited use of GPT-6 Pro. Pro has no five-hour limit in Codex and Work, but an included allowance still applies.
- How many messages does ChatGPT Plus allow?
- For chat, OpenAI publishes no number and says caps can tighten at high demand. For Codex and Work it gives ranges per five hours: GPT-6 Astra 5 to 45, GPT-6.1 Sol 15 to 160 and GPT-6 Luna 350 to 3,000 local messages.
- What separates Pro 100, Pro 200 and Pro 500?
- Price and included usage. Pro 200 includes more than Pro 100, Pro 500 the most, and OpenAI states no multiple. Ultrafast is only part of Pro 500.
- Can I pay for ChatGPT yearly?
- No. OpenAI currently offers no annual billing for Go, Plus or Pro.
- What happens when I hit the limit?
- Plus and Pro users can buy credits and keep working without changing plan. Credits stay valid for 12 months.
Sources
Read on the date next to each source.
- 1. chatgpt.com/pricing (CH) (chatgpt.com/pricing), checked
- 2. Codex and ChatGPT Work pricing (learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing), checked
- 3. ChatGPT Free tier FAQ (help.openai.com/en/articles/9275245), checked
- 4. What is ChatGPT Go? (help.openai.com/en/articles/11989085-what-is-chatgpt-go), checked
- 5. What is ChatGPT Plus? (help.openai.com/en/articles/6950777-what-is-chatgpt-plus), checked
- 6. About ChatGPT Pro tiers (help.openai.com/en/articles/9793128-about-chatgpt-pro-tiers), checked
- 7. Managing usage with GPT-6 Astra in Work and Codex (help.openai.com/en/articles/20001516-managing-usage-with-gpt-6-astra-in-work-and-codex), checked
- 8. GPT-5.6 and GPT-6 Pro in ChatGPT (help.openai.com/en/articles/20001354-gpt-56-and-gpt-6-pro-in-chatgpt), checked
- 9. ChatGPT release notes (help.openai.com/en/articles/6825453-chatgpt-release-notes), checked
- 10. OpenAI help: credits validity (help.openai.com/en/articles/12642688), checked
- 11. Multi-currency billing (help.openai.com/en/articles/10421635-multi-currency-billing), checked
Need a model picked for your use case?
Benchmarks rank models on other people's tasks. For a business workflow I test the shortlist on your own data, costs and privacy requirements, and recommend one.